Sunday, November 29, 2009

Observations on a run

1. What is with all these random shoes strewn about? There is one that has been on the side of Cumberland Road forever - a nice dressy shoe. I hope that guy didn't have to walk home with one shoe. And shoes hanging over power lines? These were really nice - maybe if you (or the person you're pranking by throwing his shoes over the lines) don't need the shoes, you might consider donating them to a person who would probably love a pair of shoes that fit or didn't have holes or just simply existed.  Jackasses.

2. When installing new plants at your home, remember to take out the tag that comes in the pot.  If you need to remember how much water they need, what they are called, etc..., I'd suggest writing notes and hanging them in your garage. 

3. An old school K's Choice song came on my iPod and reminded me of some "favorites" from Anderson Speedway.   : p


Bonus observation, not from my run.  And maybe a rule to live by rather than an observation.  If you're a guest in someone's home and they give up their desk and or living space to you, don't move stuff without asking, ESPECIALLY IF IT IS PART OF HER HOME OFFICE.  What may look like untidy piles of papers to you just might be separated into specific working piles that you just entirely SCREWED UP and I'm going to have to go through everything to figure it out. EVERY SINGLE THING.  No, I'm not upset. Why do you ask?


Besides all that, Happy Thanksgiving!

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Go Colts!!



Way to squeak out another win!! 10-0!

Thursday, November 19, 2009

More thoughts about taxpayers rights...

While I still stand by my last post about both sides (pro-choice and pro-life) needing to compromise more on the health care reform debate, it makes me question where our rights as taxpayers begin and end.  I mean, there are many anti-war people who don't want their taxes funding wars, and yet most of them don't stage huge rallies and demand a bill be passed to not allow their tax money to go to our military.  Where do you draw the line? Just because some pro-lifers don't want their tax money to go to funding health care, which could possibly cover abortions, doesn't mean that the government has to acquiesce to their desires.  I sure as hell did not want my tax money going to abstinence only sex ed for the past 8 years, but it did (and look at the growth in teen pregnancy numbers - that sure was effective).   All I am saying is that you can't let one group's moral dilemma hold up something that can bring good to a majority of the people. 

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Moments of the night...

Me and "wife's name" are all about BJ.  - I bet more men wished their wives were all about the BJ.

Josh suggesting Dougie (Ok, as an aside, what the fuck is up with being called Dougie? You're a grown ass man.) get the sportmanship award.  Oh yeah, just minutes after Larry Joe, at the front table for perfect show award, stumbles up and announces he may have had a little too much to drink. - One person high on my list of people not to piss off: a drunk Swinford.

Sportsman award winner calling out someone for not accepting an apology after a race, saying that he did not win 7 or 9 of these things by being a dirty driver.  - Whoa dude. Kinda defeats the purpose of the award.

Jared Keller having a gazillion trophies to take home. I think there were 7? haha

Meeting the infamous jhayden! Whoot.

Picking up our big ass trophy!!

I have to disagree with one thing. Rick Dawson says we're all a big family. Sorry, sir. As a person who has a family who love and respect me, and don't threaten to blow up my house or beat my ass or rape the womenfolk, I would like to respectfully bow out of your dysfuntional family unit.  And on the flip side, I would never talk trash about people in my real life family like I do a few of the drivers on this blog, so yeah. Definitely write me out of the will. 



Monday, November 9, 2009

Thursday, November 5, 2009

More thoughts on healthcare

Most people who know me know that I'm one of the most liberal tree huggers out here.  I joke with my family that I get emails from Presidents Clinton and Obama and often forward them to them for laughs (my very conservative family loves this). However, the health care reform issue really has my panties in a twist.

I think it is disgusting that the US is practically the only industrialized nation with no type of universal health care. The employer sponsored health care model we have is outdated, given that most people no longer stay with one company for their entire career. It is mind boggling to me that states do not have a group plan that uninsured people cannot buy into; not one that is funded by taxpayers, but, like an employer's group plan, just a health plan for people who are not offered coverage through their jobs or cannot afford  an individual plan.  Similar to the auto insurance one can get if they can't get private auto insurance.  It seems to me there are also other "groups" of individuals who could pool together into a larger group.   I know one of Indiana's landscaping associations has played with that idea - many companies who are part of their organization are small business and may not offer health care (or affordable health care) to their employees, so if they put them into the larger group, the costs would go down.  I'm honestly not sure how it worked out, but the idea is there.  Another group I'm thinking of, because I'm a runner, is the RRCA (Road Runners Club of America).  It's a nationwide group that lots of people belong too.  Maybe they could pool together into a group and offer health care to its member.  I mean, the members are runners. They are probably pretty healthy! LOL  I know there are lots of issues with those ideas, but surely someone smarter than me can figure them out. Those are just a few options off the top of my head. People get paid big money to figure this stuff out.

Anyway, like I said, I'm super liberal. I'm very pro-choice. (Not pro-abortion, but pro-choice.) Many people, including me, have been pissed at opponents of health care reform who are opposed because abortion is covered.  People like me say, abortion is legal.  We say, we're not promoting abortion, just making a legal option accessible.  A large, very vocal opponent is the Catholic Church.  To them we say, how can you want to deny healthcare to those in need just because a procedure is covered that you do not agree with?  And honestly, still in my heart, I believe that.  HOWEVER, maybe we need to look at our stance.  If the abortion issue is the only thing that is keeping the Church from supporting this reform, (not that the church decides, but they do make up a big population and would give a boost to the politicians trying to pass this reform), and they do seem to be on the cusp of supporting a health care reform option without federally funded abortions, why are we balking at the idea of taking abortion out of the equation? Why are we, people like me, standing in the way of better health care for the people who need it the most? Let's say people are afforded health care, but abortion isn't covered.  More people will likely have better education about birth control. Better access to birth control.  No, it won't stop abortions, but it would likely lower the need.  Perhaps there will be a trickle down effect.  People like me, middle class small business owners who pay out the wazoo for health care and have little extra, will be able to give more to causes they support, and some of those causes may better educate people on sex education, or fund more Planned Parenthoods, which offers many health services, including abortions. 

 I know I'm ranting, but like I said, I'm disgusted, and I'm willing to take a step back and look at my motivations and my goals.  I often think people are afraid to come off of their hard line stance because they think "if I give a little about not having federally funded abortions, Roe v. Wade will be overturned and women will be using coat hangers in the back alleys" or "If we support this, clinics will be handing out coupons for abortions at the local high school".  I'm guilty of this thinking too, but I think it's important to step out of your own thoughts once in awhile and not just pay lip service to looking at the other side's perspective, but really giving it some thought.  We might get to common ground quicker than we realize.